Alves Becomes Richest Western Sports Athlete

Alves Becomes Richest Western Sports Athlete with Third PBR World Title

Oct 27, 2014

Lincoln Electric is a proud partner of Silvano Alves

LAS VEGAS (October 27, 2014) – Silvano Alves became the second rider in Professional Bull Riders history to win a third world title Sunday at the Thomas & Mack Center after being named the 2014 PBR World Champion. His World Finals earnings of $1.3 million, added to his 2014 Built Ford Tough Series regular-season winnings, moved him past two-time PBR World Champion Justin McBride as the richest western sports athlete in history.  

The 26-year-old from Pilar do Sul, Brazil, went 6-for-6 at the Built Ford Tough World Finals for the first time in his career to win the event with 502 points, and earn enough points to surpass Joao Ricardo Vieira for the title. Alves sat second in the standings entering the World Finals, trailing Vieira by 511 points. After five days of fighting his way to the top, he earned his third World Championship. He also won titles in 2011 and 2012. 

 “It really means a lot to me this year,” Alves said, “because at the beginning of the year, I wasn’t riding that great. Thankfully, I was able to stay healthy and come from behind. It means a lot for me to win this Championship again.” 2013 World Champion J.B. Mauney placed second in the Finals average with 453.50 points, earning $256,375 throughout the event. With the effort, Mauney also surpassed McBride in career earnings, crossing the $5 million mark.

Finishing third was 2014 Rookie of the Year J.W. Harris (361), followed by Eduardo Aparecido (349) and Matt Triplett (268.25), who rounded out the Top 5.

Going up against Asteroid (Circle T Ranch & Rodeo) in the final round of the World Finals, Alves notched an 87.25-point performance to solidify his event win. He is the fourth rider in the PBR to cover Asteroid.

Alves joins Mauney (2013), Mike Lee (2004) and Renato Nunes (2010) as the only riders in PBR history to win the world title and World Finals event average in the same year. He also joins Adriano Moraes as the only other three-time PBR World Champion. “I respect Adriano, but for me, this isn’t important.” Alves explained regarding his motivation to pursue a fourth world title. “I want to win Championships, but that’s not the important thing. I want to ride my bulls.” Coming in behind Alves in the world standings were Joao Ricardo Vieira, Triplett, Mauney and Fabiano Vieira.

World Champion Bull:
Bushwacker (Julio Moreno Bucking Bulls) made his final out on the BFTS before a capacity crowd of 17,204 fans, en route to earning his third PBR World Champion Bull title with a two-out total of 91.50 points, beating out his brother Roy, who notched a combined 91.25 points. Bushwacker was marked 46.50 points in the Built Ford Tough Championship Round to win the title.

“When I saw the score, I was tickled to death.” Julio explained, “I just know that Bushwacker’s second trip is always better than his first. I was pretty happy with his score.”

Rookie of the Year: In a surprising twist, J.W. Harris, the four-time PRCA Champion who received a three-event exemption from the PBR to ride in the Built Ford Tough Series, took great advantage of the invitation and captured the 2014 Rookie of the Year title, edging out Gage Gay, who had held the lead since the beginning of the 2014 season.

“I guess it’s pretty cool,” Harris said. “It wasn’t something I came here thinking I would win, but I guess I did. I just want to say thanks to y’all for the invites.”

Stock Contractor of the Year: Chad Berger returned to the winners circle, winning the 2014 Stock Contractor of the Year title. He previously won the award in three consecutive years – 2007-09.

Berger said, “When I got the news, I was really excited, because we had lost out the last few years. It’s quite an honor. It’s a family operation. Everybody works hard to get this done. One man can’t do it.”

Other Awards:For his 94-point ride on Percolator in the Built Ford Tough Championship Round, Mauney captured the Lane Frost/Brent Thurman Award for the second year in a row. The award is given to the rider who receives the highest-marked ride of the event.

Tanner Byrne was awarded this year’s Glen Keeley Award, which is presented to the Canadian bull rider who earns the most points during the season.

-- Photo Credit: Andy Watson

About the Professional Bull Riders, Inc. (PBR)The world's premier bull riding organization, the PBR, turns 21 in 2014. In just two decades, the dream of 20 bull riders has become a global sports phenomenon with PBR broadcasts reaching more than half a billion households in 50 nations and territories around the world, and more than 2.5 million fans attending live events each year. It features the Top 35 bull riders in the world and the top bulls in the business and has paid out more than $130 million in earnings to its athletes. Twenty-seven men have earned more than $1 million, including two-time world champion Justin McBride with $5.5 million - the most of any western sports athlete in history. For more information on the PBR, go to, or follow on Facebook at, Twitter at and YouTube at